On Friday, May 1st at 8:30 PM ET ProspectsLive.com will commence their first annual mock MLB Draft. The draft is scheduled to begin at 8:45 PM ET and will be live-streamed via YouTube and Periscope. This mock draft is a unique collaboration of prospect writers representing each of their respective organizations. IBI contributor Willie Hood will make the selections representing the Indians along with IBI’s newest contributor Jared Sziber serving as an advisor. You can follow Willie and Jared on Twitter: @WillHoo99 and @coachsziber32.

The Setup:

The mock will consist of three rounds including supplemental rounds. Each organization will have ninety seconds to make selections. Each club representative will utilize Fantrax’s draft software to make selections. The player pool will consist of the top 200 draft prospects available. Bonus pool money will not apply and each team’s draft philosophy will be determined by their respective representatives.

Draft Philosophy:

The Indians have drafted prep players in each of the last four years (excluding 2015 selection Brady Aiken). Generally speaking, the Indians key in on the athletic middle of the diamond performers and pitchers with advanced pitch-ability. A few other traits the Tribe seems to prefer are; cold-weather players, “famous” performers, advanced bats with hitting-ability, and young for the class players/pitchers. Look for these trends to continue. 

The picks:

Round 1, pick 23

Round 1 competitive balance A, pick 36

Round 2, pick 56

Round 3, pick 95

Recent Picks:

2019 round 1 (24) Daniel Espino

2018 round 1 (29) Bo Naylor

2018 round 1a compensation pick (35) Ethan Hankins

2018 round 1b competitive balance pick (41) Lenny Torres Jr.

2017 round 2 (64) Quentin Holmes 

2016 round 1 (14) Will Benson

Noteworthy Prospects:

Bobby Miller- RHSP Louisville

Chris McMahon- RHSP Miami

Nick Bitsko- RHSP Central Bucks East HS, PA

Tyler Soderstrom- C Turlock HS, CA

Alika Williams- SS Arizona St.

Jordan Westburg- SS/3b Mississippi St.

Justin Foscue- 2b/3b Mississippi St.

Dillon Dingler- C Ohio St.

Tanner Burns- RHSP Auburn

Carmen Mlodzinski- RHSP South Carolina

Carson Montgomery- RHSP Windermere HS, FL

Cole Wilcox- RHSP Georgia

Jordan Walker- 3b Decatur HS, GA

Pete Crow-Armstrong- CF 

JT Ginn- RHSP Mississippi St.

Slade Secconi- RHSP Miami

Ed Howard- SS Mount Carmel HS, IL

Austin Wells- C Arizona

Nick Loftin- SS Baylor

Drew Romo- C The Woodlands HS, TX

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.